Page 1 of 8 1234 ... Last

1. Post

A stab in the dark....

Hi guys,

Long time lurker / seldom poster so I probably wont get much of a response (just thought id ask anyway)...

Long Read

I am a teacher at a low decile primary school. I rather keep the school unknown at the moment - though cant imagine Id get in any trouble asking this.

In my classroom I have two computers, running xp, they struggle to access the internet and aren't really much good for anything. Upgrading them is not a priority. Currently I use them for educational games before school or on wet days. Or for publishing work. This is a pretty crap use of them but as I only have two, and if I was using it for a more effective purpose, for 20 odd kids to all have a turn and get something completed is a bit of a mission. I would like to teach using these more but feel that I dont have enough computers to be able to put in an effective program.

I am very tech orientated with my teaching, but as discussed am limited with the amount of hardware we have in the classroom and would like to do a lot more. Id like to do some film making / animation stuff and also use the computers for my maths / reading groups - there are some very effective things I could be doing - but with 6 kids in a group, its still not effective.

I believe that it is important that children are using computers as much as possible in order to be prepared for the future. If I think back to my own education, my knowledge of computers and learning their use has come from home not school. Many of my children dont have this opportunity, barely having lunch every day of the week. As two computers aren't much between 24 children I thought I would see if anyone had anything lying around gathering dust that they were thinking of taking to the dump that they would give me. The type of computers that I'm after, or parts or whatever, would not be worth much on trademe, so maybe people are happy to gift them away....