Epic BBQ Index or, What to do now that you have a new Weber BBQ.

Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average.
(6 votes)
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... Last

1. Lightning

Epic BBQ Index or, What to do now that you have a new Weber BBQ.

Someone asked me: "I just got a new Weber, I'm totally new to BBQ, what do I do?" and I see this occasionally in the Adventures With A Weber BBQ thread. I started writing a few notes down for them, then I thought I'd just write something a little bigger that other people can refer to as well. Maybe it can get stickied. If you have a question I recommend heading over to the Adventures With A Weber BBQ thread as that sees alot of traffic.

DISCLAIMER: I'm by no means a pro. I learnt from all the other people on this forum so credit goes to them. This is mostly a collation of their knowledge. If you disagree with something I have written here or if you think something else should be added/removed just say so and I will do it. For the links at the end I just skimmed through the thread only looking at pictures, if I have overlooked something that may be of value let me know and I'll add it. This thread will forever be a work in progress

First off, and possibly most importantly, I would say: Don't be put off by a bad experience! I guarantee you that EVERYONE who has posted a picture of something awesome in the BBQ thread has had some epic fails along the way (I know I sure have) although only one person has been man enough to show it. Be sure to have some boxed pizzas in the freezer should things turn pear shaped and be willing to just laugh and chalk it up as a learning experience if something goes horribly wrong.

I'd recommend having a crack at the following (easiest to hardest):
    1) First fire it up and cook come cheap steaks. Steaks over coals and delicious. Thicker steaks are best.