Page 1 of 2 12 Last

1. Post

Is being an Uber driver a good job?

So I'm being made redundant & will be out of a job by the end of the month & one idea I had was becoming an Uber driver. I've been doing admin/office shit for the last 20 years & want to do something different & the freedom of being my own boss & choosing my own hours is very appealing to me.

Does anyone here have any experience as an Uber driver & can you make a decent living from it? From what I've heard its better as a secondary job if you want to make a bit of extra cash but not so great a primary job due to the unpredictability. I would also need a new car since my current one is 13 yrs old. Once I buy a new car & factor in expenses like gas & wear & tear would it be worth it in the end?

cheers

2. Post
    i doubt it. it's only worth it if you can get that sweet surge pricing but that's not consistent enough to make a living from (IMO)

3. Post
    ^ that and you have no protection because you're not an employee, you're an "independent contractor". Plus uber as a company are shitheels.

4. Post
    Region makes a big difference too. You can probably make decent coin doing 8pm friday -> 6am sat | 8pm sat -> 6am sunday somewhere like auckland/wellington and then do something else for extra during the week?

5. Post
    LiQuid.Ace wrote:
    Region makes a big difference too. You can probably make decent coin doing 8pm friday -> 6am sat | 8pm sat -> 6am sunday somewhere like auckland/wellington and then do something else for extra during the week?
    Yeah Im in Auckland so could probably make a decent amount during those times.

Sorcerer & kierbear bring up some good points too so I'm pretty 50/50 about it now.

6. Post
    Browse some random posts on https://www.reddit.com/r/uberdrivers/ and see how bad they claim it is.

7. Post
    Being an independent contractor is not a big deal provided you put money aside for tax/ bills/quiet patches etc. I've been one for over 4 years.

8. Post

9. Post